Soup’s On!

Oy, it’s been a long couple of days.  We had such a good break, but it was crazy!  First we drove to NJ to spend a little time with my parents and break up our trip.  Then we headed up to Boston for the majority of the week!  I ate like I might never see food again.  It was fantastic.  I also took full advantage of the coffee machine I told you all about before!

DSC03252 DSC03253We were really worried about traffic, so we headed out Saturday night and stopped in Syracuse for the night.  We woke up more tired than before (the hotel was swarming with teenagers!) and headed back to the ‘Ville.  In typical Morgan and Solomon fashion we unpacked ASAP.  Neither of us likes to leave things waiting, and always unpack as soon as we can.  Do you unpack right away, or leave things to be done later?

One of the best parts about coming home was seeing all of the fun packages waiting for me!  Our neighbor was nice enough to check in on the apartment and bring packages inside this week.  Our mail was on hold all week, so I’m hoping maybe there are some fun goodies in there tomorrow too!  I’ll have lots of reviews coming up, but I thought I would start this week with a giveaway!

When Dr. McDougall’s offered to send me some of their ready made soups,. I was all over that!  I really don’t like soups in a can because they are so salty, plus I am kind of picky about soup.  Because I am vegetarian, and we keep kosher, any soup with chicken or beef stock is out of the question.  These soups are vegan, so I know I don’t have to worry about any animal products (no ham in the split pea soup!) and they are gluten free.  They come in cardboard containers which keep in the fridge for about a week, and seal back up!DSC03270These couldn’t have come at a better time!  I wanted something light with veggies for dinner so I chose the vegetable soup.

DSC03308 The taste was good, but not as chock full of veggies as I would have liked.  The tomato broth was delicious and full of flavor, and the combination of vegetables were nice.  I also wonder if perhaps all of the vegetables settled to the bottom of the box and I will find them next time I have this soup?  Either way, it was a great, quick and filling meal.  I had a few crackers on the side, and caught up on DVR.  I was one happy camper.

DSC03310I really can’t wait to try the lentil and black bean soups (LOVE black bean soup!).  I also think I am going to leave the roasted pepper soup to Solomon (hi my family!).  I had an unfortunate red pepper soup experience involving a bad case of the flu, so I can’t go near the stuff anymore!

Now comes the fun part!  Want to win your own assortment of soups?  Dr. McDougall’s offered to team up with Live, Love, Eat and Play to offer one reader a selection of ready made soups!

Here’s how to enter:

  1. Visit the Dr. McDougall’s website and leave a comment telling me which soup you most want to try!
  2. Link back to this contest on your blog.  Leave me a comment that you did this!
  3. Either subscribe to my blog, or add me to your blogroll.  Leave me a comment that you did this!
  4. Tell me a good deed you are doing or plan to do this holiday season.
  5. If you don’t have a blog, let a friend know about this contest so they can enter too!  Leave a comment telling me you told someone (honor system!)

That’s it!  Get those entries in!  I’ll be choosing a winner on December 4th.

45 Responses

  1. I want to try the Minestrone. But the Black Bean sounds good too!

  2. I subscribe to your blog in Google Reader.

  3. I’d love to try the Black Bean! I looooove black bean soup. 😉

  4. Oooh the minestrone. That’s always one of my favorites.

    I guess, as long as I’ve been reading your blog, I never realized you were vegetarian. It makes sense, but maybe you just make it seem so easy!

  5. Definitely Black Bean….always my favorite!

  6. And I follow your blog already 🙂

  7. I’d love to try the Black Bean!

  8. I subscribe to your blog 🙂

  9. oooh I want to try the split pea soup, only because I’ve never had it before. but minestrone is my absolute favoritest.

  10. this holiday season, instead of taking advantage of the free holiday fixings offered to us because of my brother’s welfare benefits, i decided to give it to another family who needs it more than us. We are able to afford food and I know that there are families out there with way less than us.

  11. you’re on my blogroll and I’m a follower/subscriber.

  12. I’d love to try the lentil!

  13. I follow your blog on google reader!

  14. Just emailed my sister about your giveaway (I don’t have a blog) – she’s crazy for soup and promises to check it out!

  15. i want black bean!

  16. and a good deed-i have a bag of non perishable food + a starbucks gift card that’re getting donated at church next week

  17. I love a good lentil soup so I’d love to try that!

  18. For my good deed – I am making healthy versions of christmas treats to bring into the office so people will have a healthier option 🙂

  19. the split pea soup sounds so good!

  20. I plan on donating some canned goods to a local shelter this year!

  21. […] Morgan is doing a Dr. McDougall’s soup giveaway. Looks […]

  22. The black bean variety sounds awesome!

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  23. You are in my blogroll!

  24. My holiday good deed: I’m volunteering with my church Christmas decorating on Saturday and I can’t wait!

  25. I love resealable soup containers! yes! Those look so good! I need to check them out! Especially the Lentil…I’m obsessed with the protein packed lentil!

    I had a BLAST with my schnauzers and can’t wait to see them again in 16 days! 😀

    That is the coolest coffee machine ever. Jealous, much?!

  26. You are on my blogroll, of course.

  27. I would love to try the Minestrone Soup. My husband loves Italian food .

  28. I linked back! …And there are schnauzer pictures! 😉

    http://nutritiousisdelicious.blogspot.com/2009/11/hip-hop-party.html

  29. Good Deed? I participated in Operation Christmas Child this year (and every year) and did a persuasive speech over the organization for my speech class to spread the word! 😀

  30. I am so glad to have found your blog. Not only so I can enter and say i would love to try the split pea (since I am veggie and love pea soup), but I am happy to have another Jewish blogger out there. I do not keep kosher but my grandparents always did. I love readin labels to check for kosher so I know if it is veggie friendly or not (since I do eat dairy).

  31. Yay, added you to my blog roll.

  32. As for something good, well we have bought some gifts for the less fortunate and my class in school is collecting school supplies for a nearby less fortunate school.

  33. Black bean!! or Split pea!! Oh gosh- ALL of them!

  34. Definitely the vegetable soup

  35. Roasted Red Pepper Tomato Soup all the way!
    YUM!!
    😀

  36. You’re already on my Google Reader!

  37. MMm I love Lentil soup!!

  38. You’re already in my Google Reader 🙂 And my Hsband and I are going to go shopping for Toys for Tots this Christmas 🙂

  39. Roasted Pepper Tomato would be my favorite!

  40. I want my son to be involved with the community and volunteering. Our family isn’t big on celebrations, so I would like to bring my son somewhere to serve less fortunate people Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner (not for this season, but still a planned good deed for the holidays).

  41. I’m adding you to my blogroll.

  42. […] Morgan is doing a Dr. McDougall’s soup giveaway. Looks […]

Leave a Reply

