Exercise Should be FUN!

Sometimes I feel like I am just going through the motions.  I’m working out because I have to, and I have a schedule I want to stick to.  It gets a little monotonous, and takes the fun out of working out.  Yes, I actually enjoy working out, I think it’s fun.  Go figure!

Lately, I’ve been trying to think of what I can do to spice things up.  A few years ago I used to rock climb ALL THE TIME.  I have all sorts of equipment for it, and in addition to being fun, it’s a great workout.  I haven’t done it for a long time, and don’t have a rock gym near me that I know of.  My father suggested we go the other day, and I remembered what a blast it is!I first got into climbing because during the off season of swim team, some of my teammates started climbing.  I was abroad in Melbourne, so didn’t get into it until a little while later.  Meanwhile, my brother was climbing on a regular basis, and had become really good at it.  Eventually, my father started climbing, and it became a regular event for us to go.  Solomon climbed with us too, and it’s always such fun!

The point is, climbing this weekend reminded me that working out doesn’t have to be a work out.  It’s so exciting to challenge myself to get up a difficult wall, and the sense of accomplishment in the end can’t be beat.  It’s a great workout for your legs too (people always think climbing just works your arms, but not so!).  It hurts places that I’m not used to hurting in, but I love every second of it.  I love the height, and the challenge it always presents.  It’s as mental as it is physical!  How cool is it to be able to say you made it up a wall like this?

This reminded me that I work too hard to break a sweat, get my heart racing, and  really WORK OUT.  There’s nothing wrong with taking a nice, long walk or counting a full day of shopping as a work out!

What’s your favorite way to work out?  How do you get in a work out with it FEELING like a work out?

9 Responses

  1. That looks like such fun! I’ve only ever done it on tiny little walls that I could practically step over. 😉

    Personally, I like working out best when it doesn’t FEEL like a workout — if I’m doing something I like to do just for the fun of it, or as a means to some other end, that makes me happy. That’s why I hate treadmills — I’m walking and walking and walking, but I’m not getting anywhere! I’d much rather go on a hike.

    ❤ ❤

  2. ive always wanted to try rock climbimg but i have this fear of heights…so yeah kind of out of the question.

  3. I would love to try rock climbing. It looks like so much fun.

  4. Oh, this makes me glad that I live in a small town with no chance to try that! Just kidding – it looks fun but a little bit scary!

    I enjoy running and being outside. I get so frustrated if I have to run/walk on the treadmill, it’s just not fun for me!

  5. Kudos to you for rock climbing. I’m not a big fan. I can definitely climb ON the rocks, but up them is a whole other scary story.

  6. I love exercising by taking my dog to the dog park. She’s kind of a bully sometimes so I run around to keep her from showing other dogs who’s boss : ) It’s a great way for us to both get out and burn off some energy. Love it! I also love to play ice-hockey…it never feels like a workout because I love the game and people so much!!

  7. I used to rock climb in college. I miss it! I’m looking up a rock climbing wall in my area right now!

  8. […] I would run on a regular basis, with two of my best girls.  I also used the off season to learn to rock climb, which I […]

  9. […] I would run on a regular basis, with two of my best girls.  I also used the off season to learn to rock climb, which I […]

Leave a Reply

