Restaurant Copycat:Thai Pizza

When I was living in Boston, there always seemed to be a California Pizza Kitchen nearby.  Now, I’m not the biggest fan of chains, but I have always found something at CPK I like, and find their menu is easily modifiable to keep it fairly healthy.

Maybe my love of CPK comes from drunk nights there after law school exams involving far too much spinach artichoke dip and ridiculous amounts of wine?  I don’t know, anything’s possible!

Now that I live in M’Ville, there’s no CPK for hundreds of miles.  It’s not so bad, except the other night I was craving one of their pizzas bad.  I couldn’t buy one of their freezer pizzas, since there was chicken on it, and I don’t eat meat, AND I keep a kosher home, so I thought I would try to recreate it myself.  I had my heart set on the Thai Chicken Pizza, minus the chicken.  Here’s the description from their website:

This is the original! Pieces of chicken breast marinated in a spicy peanut-ginger and sesame sauce, Mozzarella cheese, green onions, bean sprouts, julienne carrots, cilantro and roasted peanuts.

I took one look and realized I can TOTALLY do that!

First, I started with Jenna’s pizza dough. I’ve made this a few times and it never fails me.  I preheated the oven to 450, and put my pizza stone in there.

DSC02972 I always like to give the crust a little time in the oven before topping it.  I find it works best if it is room temperature.  I spread it out on my pizza crisper.  It went in for about 5 minutes.

To make the sauce, I took some PB & Co. The Heat Is On and put it in a bowl to start.

DSC02963 Then I added these guys.  I wish I could tell you how much of everything went into my sauce, but I just kept adding soy sauce and sesame oil and tasting as I went.  More PB went in of course.

DSC02964 I used some pre shredded mozzarella and sprinkled it on the crust.  Then I spread the sauce on (I popped it in the microwave for about a minute to make it a little more runny).  Then 3 sliced scallions went on top.

DSC02965 This was followed by a shredded carrot, a few handfuls of bean sprouts, a little chopped cilantro and a handful of roasted peanuts.  THAT”S IT.

DSC02962 DSC02967 Into the oven for 12 minutes, and perfection was done!

DSC02969 DSC02970

This was a big hit with the hubby, and I loved it so much that I had 2 huge pieces and loved every single bite.  It tasted so much like the CPK pizza, but better since I knew exactly what went into it!  The sauce was fantastic, and I think I definitely need to try it out on some sort of noodle dish soon.  I’m so happy to know that even though I live somewhere kind of remote, I can still enjoy my favorite foods!

Who am I to complain anyway?  Moving to M’Ville has really expanded my cooking skills.  The lack of restaurants means we are cooking a lot more at home, which is good for our waistlines and wallets.  It’s not so hard to pick apart something as simple as pizza and make it yourself!

What’s your favorite kind of pizza?  Do you make pizza at home?  Any tips or secrets?

Don’t forget to enter my Blender Bottle giveaway! There are 3 ways to enter!

  1. Leave me a comment on this post with your favorite smoothie recipe.  I like smoothies,and I like variety!
  2. Follow me on Twitter and tweet about this.  Let me know what you said, be sure to include my name (@liveloveeatplay).
  3. Link back to this contest in your blog.

Head over to Emily’s blog for a Penny’s Low Fat Dessert giveaway!

21 Responses

  1. Thanks for the linkback! I’ve never been to that restaurant, but I still want that pizza! MMM!

  2. that sounds so interesting! We don’t have that restaurant here, but I bet they have some great toppings!

  3. Isn’t it so much fun to try and recreate recipes?! (Okay, it can get annoying after the tenth failed attempt, but it looks like you nailed it! :))

    ❤ ❤

  4. I really like CPK. The first time I ever had it was in an airport and I was sold.

    This thai pizza sounds like something I would love. I’ve never tried that one, but I do like an interesting pizza. I’ve never seen spicy peanut butter before. I bet that would make for some great cold peanut noodles.

  5. YUMM that looks better than CPK!! I haven’t been to one in SOO long I used to go sometimes to the one downtown boston in the prudential center!

    I dont know which dress you were referring to but they are both from bloomingdales! the denim is Theory and the black is French Connection. Love them both and I have had the black one for years! its just my go-to LBD (little black dress) haha

    have a greeatt day!

    oh fav kind of pizza is loaded with veggies maybe some goat cheese and grilled chicken!!

  6. I love loading pizzas up with fresh veggies and the like. Yours looks delicious – especially the cashews on top.

  7. Thats a delicious looking pizza! I think I would eat too many slices. lol My all time favorite veggie pizza is one my Uncle made last week, I’m going to try and recreate it this weekend.

  8. yum yum that pizza looks sooo delish! i LOVE cpk- they have amazing salads! and i love that you can get pizza with the honey wheat dough!

  9. thanks for visiting my blog! your pizza looks insanely good!

  10. looks fantastic!!! peanut anything = YUM.

  11. Does that pb jar really say the heat is on?? I have never seen that before. lol!

  12. I’m not a big pizza eater, but if I was, I love roasted veggies!

  13. That pizza is INSANE! Wow! I love the way you used that PB! Amazingly creative! I’ll say this sounds better than the CPK one!
    I “cheat” when it comes to pizza. I just use a pita for the base!

  14. […] Restaurant Copycat:Thai Pizza […]

  15. […] individual containers, and think I might make a pizza with the rest.  You know I love making my own […]

  16. […] been a long time since I made homemade pizza.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve made any in 2010.  Well, of course that […]

  17. […] to go to waste this last time, instead of just eating the eggplant parm as leftovers, I made some pizza dough, and put it all on top of a pizza, with some fresh basil and a little leftover chopped […]

  18. […] than making the pizza dough I normally use, I decided that to make this as authentic as possible, I would use Todd English’s pizza dough […]

Leave a Reply

