Gourds Galore

Last night my neighbor came over with a ton of pumpkins.  She and her husband are snowbirds who are heading to Florida this weekend, so she figured I would like some of her fall decor.  Obviously, I look at pumpkin and see food, rather than decor, but I was MORE than happy to take them off of her hands.

She gave me about 10 mini pumpkins.  What should I do with them?  I’m thinking of using them as bowls for tonight when I friends come for dinner maybe?  No joke, but are mini pumpkins edible?

DSC02912 Oh, she also gave us this addiction, I mean treat. DANGER, DANGER, DANGER!

DSC02913She also gave us 2 big guys.  There really is no point carving them, since our neighborhood won’t get trick or treaters.  Have you ever used real pumpkin to cook with instead of the canned stuff?  What are your suggestions?  I plan to roast up the nuts, but I just don’t know what else to do!!  Maybe some slow cooker pumpkin butter?

DSC02914 By the way, while I was on the phone in the other room, Rufio discovered the pumpkins.

DSC02901 DSC02898

He ate a hole through one making a huge mess, then got mighty pissed when I took it away.  My dog likes pumpkin!  At the top…see that?  That would be his little head staring out the window at his fallen friend, the pumpkin.

DSC02915 Speaking of gourds…last night I made butternut squash fries, and they were delicious (is it bad that those and half a glass of wine were my dinner?).  I found the recipe in Kosher by Design Lightens Up, which was adapted from a Hungry Girl recipe.

-Preheat oven to 425 degrees
-Peel and slice a butternut squash into fry shapes and spread on a cookie sheet
-Spray with cooking spray
-Sprinkle on: 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp. paprika, 1/2 tsp, garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. chili powder, 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, 1/4 tsp dry mustard powder
-Cook in oven 35 to 40 minutes, shaking occasionally, until fries are crispy!

DSC02903

Nice and spicy, with a hint of sweetness. YUM!

My Chobani giveaway ends tomorrow!  Make sure to get your entries in!

9 Responses

  1. I’ve been wondering whether you can eat gourds… apparently you can, but they won’t taste very good. As for those little mini pumpkins, I bought a couple of them a few weeks back because I thought they were cute. Then, even though they were coated with some sort of gloss to prevent it, they started to turn, so I decided to eat them. Um, hello? They were delicious. I roasted them.

    That Kosher by Design Lightens Up cracks me up… I call it the Healthens Up, because that’s really a more apropos title! 😉

    ❤ ❤

  2. i’ve seen pictures of little pumpkins stuffed with things that look like they’d be an adorable part of a dinner, so i’m guessing you can….

  3. you should got to We Are Not Martha blog…they made chicken pot pie in tiny pumpkins. i havent found tiny pumpkins anywhere and so I havent tried it myself. but if its chicken pot pie, im sure itll be GOOD.

  4. Haha Rufio is too funny. I don’t really know what to do with all that but I looking forward to reading what you make. You could make one massive pumpkin pie.

  5. the fries look delicious!! Oh my candy corn! I could eat a whole bag in one sitting, so I try not to buy it : ) I hope you have a great weekend and Happy Halloween!!!

  6. I made pumpkin fries the other night and posted on it, they were pretty good! My dad always makes his pumpkin pies from scratch and you can make a pretty good soup as well

  7. those fries look awesome! i need to do something like that asap! Candy Corns are def my weakness too. I usually don’t like them all that much, but when i just have 1, it all goes down hill from there!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  8. LOL – that is too funny! I love how he is actually staring out the window longingly! dogs can be such a riot!

Leave a Reply

