A Lesson on Body Image

I’m sure a lot of you know that I volunteer with a swim team.  I just help with practices, and meets and stuff, nothing big, but it’s fun.  Well, today, while the team was stretching for the second practice (there are 2 practices in the afternoon), I realized that the girls on the team are more comfortable in just a bathing suit, than I am in workout gear!  I miss feeling that way.

When I was in college and swimming, I didn’t necessarily have the best body image, but it was definitely better than it is now!  I don’t know what happened in the last few years to make me so self aware and self conscious.  How did I become so critical of every single part of my body?  I can’t even fathom that I used to be like these girls, and would walk around in just a bathing suit in front of hundreds of people and not think twice about it.  I would stretch and do strength exercises in just a bathing suit, and it totally didn’t phase me!  I weigh less now than I did in college, and while my shape has changed a bit since I don’t do intense swim workouts daily, I still look comparable (I think).  Where did that girl go and how can I get her back?

I remember calling my mom a few months into college crying because my thighs had gotten so muscular none of my pants fit (I did not swim in high school).  She told me to get some new pants and get over it.  So I did, and I felt fine!  It didn’t bother me so much that the number on my clothes had changed, it barely affected me at all.  I remember feeling so proud of my hard work, even if it meant bigger thighs.  I was always proud of my strong back and shoulders (still am), and the soreness and constant smell of chlorine that helped prove my hard work.  I feel like I don’t have reminders like that anymore.  What do you have to remind you of how hard you are working and how far you have come?

n1818448_30647782_7300 Yes, I look like I have half a head.  And yes, my eyebrows weren’t nearly as fab as they are now, but seriously?!?!  I was so comfortable in my own skin, flaws and all! 

I’m sorry to be all whiny, which I try not to do too much.  Aside from the body image issues, everything is OK!  I even got beautiful flowers from the hubby yesterday, just to bring a smile to my face!  Sorry, not trying to brag, just feeling a little blue!

DSC02892What do you guys think about another Solomon post?  I got him to try Ethiopian food, which he thought he wouldn’t like, but loved.  It might be fun to have him review it, right?

I have a ton of fun blog stuff coming up, including a ton of reviews, yummy recipes (I tried Jenna’s pizza crust and made an amazing pizza), and another giveaway coming up soon!  In the meantime, head over to Healthy Diva Eats for a great giveaway ending today!

Time to head off and play with our new toy.  This will keep us busy all the days we are sure to be snowed in this winter!

DSC02893Also, don’t forget to enter my Chobani giveaway! I’ll pick a winner October 30th!

So what are your good body image tips?  What makes you feel fantastic in your own skin?

7 Responses

  1. I feel the same way sometimes – what happened to that girl I was in middle school who could care less? I’m working on getting her back 🙂

  2. i used to be skinny…. like, a good 50 pounds less than i am now. (which is insane to think about)
    but i was also craaaazy when i was skinny because i was so caught up in not eating and working out and chain smoking because it kept the hunger pains down. as much as i’d love to be a size 2 again (do you know what great sales you can find at that size?! way more on the clearance rack than when you’re an 8. that was one of my favorite parts) i know i’m a lot less nuts these days. and i’ll take that over clearance pants any day.

  3. I feel like sometimes everyone goes through this. I certainly have, and it just takes a light bulb moment to get us back on track! Even though we might not like this or that about ourselves, i know there are an equal amount of things we do love about ourselves! 🙂 keep on smiling girl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Now isn’t that just the million-dollar question!! I don’t remember being so conscious of my body when I was in high school; I mean, I was perpetually “on a diet,” like 99% of high school girls are, but it didn’t run my life the way it does now. The weirdest part of this all is that I don’t actually mind wearing a swimsuit in the water… once I’m on solid ground, I mind terribly, but that’s got nothing to do with anything.

    Your roses are so pretty!! (I actually think I have the same vase, only mind isn’t blue. I like the blue one better. ;))

    ❤ ❤

  5. thank you for this post! it’s so real and what everyone truly goes through. I myself was lighter during my early years in college (it sounds like ive been in school FOREVER), but now im doing more to be healthy yet the scale goes the opposite way, up up & up!

    since ive been on a health kick i would say that the one thing i love about myself is my ASS! i kid you not! i’ve never had any ‘junk in the trunk’ but since i started exercising and eating healthier, I GREW SOME JUNK IN THE TRUNK! pretty hilarious right?!

  6. I agree. I was so confident and secure in 5th grade and then it was all downhill for years (middle school, high school, college). I have been out of college for a year and a half and within the past few months I have started to bring the confidence back. And it feel great!

  7. I try to view my body through the eyes of what it can do, and not how it looks. I say try, because it’s not easy at all. I have to make an actual effort to see myself that way. One example, I have struggles with my legs and so when I get really down about them, I make a mental list of amazing things they have done: walked miles upon miles, hiked, swam in the ocean, cliff diving, rock climbed like crazy, survived sprains and bruises and whatever other injuries I’ve put them through…

    It really helps, but I know it’s tough. And btw, I’d love to read Solomon’s thoughts on Ethiopian food… I’ve never had it!

Leave a Reply

