It’s Like the Mother Ship Calling Me Home

Hello!  Hope everyone had a lovely weekend.  Thank you so much for your advice on pleasing different palates.  Solomon is getting more comfortable with eating vegetarian more often than not, but I still have to satisfy his carnivorous needs!

This weekend was nice and relaxing.  I went into Manhattan on Saturday to spend the day with my girlfriend Rachel.  Rachel was one of my first friends at Brandeis, and is the whole reason I swam in college!  I swam from the age of 4 until 8th grade, and then didn’t swim in high school.  I had thought about swimming in college, but didn’t really decide until I met Rach.  After she graduated, Rachel went to medical school, and now she is in her residency for orthopaedic medicine.  She then wants to further specialize in pediatric orthopaedic.  She is amazing and soo brilliant.  Plus she’s beautiful.  Rach is also the type of friend that I can not see or speak to for months, and then pick up right where we left off. 

I managed to miss the bus to the city, and had to wait 15 minutes for the next one so I went next door to the cute little salad shop and grabbed what Gina calls a “Cullen Juice”-mine had orange, beets and carrots.  It was delicious, and the flavors went so well together.  The people at the bus stop and on the bus all looked at me a little funny.  They all had coffee, and I was sucking down some blood red stuff, AND I took a picture of it.  Whatever, I do what I want!

DSC02519

When I spend time with Rachel, there is usually NO AGENDA.  It’s awesome.  We just wandered and wandered all around the city for about 5 hours.  We shopped a street fair, watched some street performers and gossiped.  When Rachel asked where I wanted to go for lunch, I had my heart set on one place:

Peanut Butter & Co!

DSC02520

DSC02521

Please excuse the hot mess that is my hair.  It was hella windy.

I have a tendency to buy a lot of peanut and other nut butters, and PB & Co. are some of my favorites because their flavors are fantastic.  Because I am such a fan of their stuff, I was determined to try their restaurant.  It was teeny tiny, but this was Manhattan, so that’s a given (btw, love the West Village so much).  The place was absolutely packed, so right there we knew that was a good sign!  It took us a really long time to decide what to get, since all of the choices seemed pretty amazing.  After much deliberation, Rachel chose The Elvis which had PB (obvi), banana and honey.  A classic but a goodie!  I got the weekly special, which was the Johnny Appleseed.  This was a bagel with PB, vanilla cream cheese (which was so delicious) and apple slices.  We took our lunches to go, and they were packed with carrot sticks and potato chips and sat in Washington Square Park.  We were probably the happiest girls in Manhattan when we were eating.  Our sandwiches were beyond delicious.  I really love PB & Co, and can’t wait to get more creative with my PB stash based on their menu.  But really, anything rocks with peanut butter!

DSC02522

What is a restaurant that you were excited to go to that really lived up to your expectations?  Have you ever been to one that you were excited for but disappointed you?

10 Responses

  1. LOOOOVE PB& Co.!!

  2. Are you serious, you actually went here! is that what heaven looks like????

    Also its so funny that you have a best friend named rachel, i do too, and her and i are the same way, if we don’t talk for a while, seriously the second we do its like time hasnt even passed. i LOVE that! 🙂 glad you had such a great time!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. yum – I want to go there so bad! That’s definitely a place I need to hit up if I ever get to NY 🙂

  4. I think I would faint if I went there — heaven!

  5. How cool – a PB & Co restaurant! The food looks yummy!

    A restaurant that I went to that went above and beyond my expectations was Chipotle and also Chaco Canyon Raw Vegan Restaurant in Seattle- the food was divine! 😀

  6. OMG I am so jealous that you went there! Hope the rest of your weekend was just as fantastic!

  7. I’m so jealous! I saw Peanut Butter & Co. on the Food Network a while ago and thought it was GENIUS.

    The husband and I travel a lot, and it’s always based on food. 🙂 When we went to Chicago, I wanted to go to a Rick Bayless restaurant, so we hit up Topolobampo.

    To.die.for. Best restaurant ever — although Gordon Ramsay’s place in London is close.

    I hate when I get excited about places, especially when they’re organic, raw or have another healthy twist, and they disappoint.

  8. I love peanut butter! My boyfriend eats meat but I’m vegan, so oftentimes we’ll have my meal plus he’ll have a side of meat that he makes himself!

  9. A PB&Co Restaurant! WhaaaaT?!

    She is my 2nd cousin and I am DYING to meet her! It’s such a bummer to have a new little one in the family that is so far away, you know?!

    p.s. I almost can’t even come to your site because seeing that freaktabulously ADORABLE schnauzer makes me miss mine so much (Especially at that age!). haha

  10. AHHHH i’ve always wanted to try that place! someday!

Leave a Reply

