Our Engagement Story

Missed how we met?

I knew we were going to get engaged.  We had started talking about it.  I just didn’t know when.

One cold March Saturday, I had to be at law school early in the morning.  I can’t really remember what for.  Solomon suggested he come meet me afterwards so we could spend the afternoon in Boston.  I didn’t think anything of it, until I suggested that I go home to change (I was wearing a suit) and he said he would bring me clothes.  I thought that was a little weird, but whatever.

Solomon picked me up and was holding a lily, my favorite.  He then handed me an envelope, and at that point I knew what was going on.  This began a scavenger hunt around Boston that was a comedy of errors.  First we went to Brandeis, where we met.  Second was the reflecting pool, which is one of my favorite places in Boston.  I had always said I wanted to get engaged here, so at this point I was disappointed, thinking it was a lame scavenger hunt.  Plus the reflecting pool was empty!  Isn’t it pretty:

The next clue had a poem about the musical RENT, so I thought we were going to Manhattan!  Instead, we were headed to the theater district, where my law school is.  The final clue led us to the Boston Public Gardens.  Solomon took me to the bridge overlooking the swan pond, and it was empty!  It was full of garbage and muddy!  At this point he was panicking, but knew he had to go on.  This is what it looks like when it’s not full of crap:

So after some quick thinking, he took me over to the Make Way for Ducklings statue, because I love that book.  It was crowded with boy scouts, so that plan went out the window too.

Eventually, he just plopped me down on a bench, said some beautiful things I can’t remember, pulled out the most perfect ring ever and asked me to marry him.  I said yes, while tears poured down my face.  After all of the excitement, and before making the bazillion phone calls to tell our friends and family, I insisted I had to get a manicure ASAP.  He agreed.  If that’s not love, I don’t know what is!

I can’t find any pics from our engagement, though I know they are somewhere!  And ring shots never look quite right.  Here’s a shot from our wedding of my ring

ry%3D400 I think he did a pretty good job!!

4 Responses

  1. aww, how cute! when we got engaged my fiance kept waiting for there to not be people around. and waiting. and waiting. and finally just did it.

    and pictures of the ring never do turn out… i don’t know why

  2. That is such a sweet, sweet story.

  3. Aw that is SO sweet! haha I loved that he kept trying over and over to find a good place, so cute. 🙂

    (lol and he did better than my dad…my dad’s plans all kept going out the window so he proposed to my mom at a red light in the car in the rain LOL! They’re still married, 26 years later!). 🙂

    So glad I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

