On the Road Again

I’m so happy to hear so many of you refuse to “healthify” some of your favorite foods.  Some things are meant to be decadent and full of things that aren’t so good for you!  As long as you find a balance with what you are eating, there’s not reason not to enjoy some treats in moderation! That’s why I really like the idea behind Cookie Friday.

Here’s reason 57,891 why I have the best husband ever: he went to Pittsburgh for work and went to TJ’s for me!  I got so spoiled living near so many TJ’s in Boston, and there are just some things that I feel like I need in my life!  He picked up just the essentials, and thankfully all are shelf stable, since we’ll be gone for almost 3 weeks (more on that later).

DSC02316 Breakfast this morning features a long lost friend.  I have a tendency to overbuy at TJ’s and the grocery store, only to discover things later on that I felt I needed right then, but never ate!  Enter a new hot cereal!

DSC02317 Multigrain cereal is like jacked up oats.  Look what’s in it!

DSC02318 That guy on the end is wheat!  I had a lovely warm breakfast this morning with 1/2 banana (Rufio had the other half), vanilla rice milk, raisins, flax and Barney Butter.  I’m trying to get my Barney Butter fill in now, since I won’t have any for a few weeks!

DSC02320Now, I’m just trying to finish breakfast, and get ready to hit the road!  I am driving with Rufio down to NJ today (where my parents are).  Maybe I’ll stop at Berkey Creamery and get my dad some ice cream, since he loves all things sweet.  On Friday my parents and I are flying down to Atlanta for a wedding.  I have been so crazed trying to pack for everything, but the best part about being in the bridal party is not worrying about what I am going to wear!  Because the couple lives in Israel, there is a lot this weekend.  We have the bridal shower/bachelorette, rehearsal dinner, and wedding.  Solomon is going to fly down Saturday for the wedding.  On Monday Solomon will fly to New England for work for 2 weeks, and I’m going to NJ with my parents.  I’ll be there until October 14th, when my mom and I are going to drive my grandmother’s car down to Florida.  She’s a snowbird, and won’t ship the car b/c she doesn’t want to fly with her dog, just in case the flight is delayed.  She’s just a tad bit obsessed with her dog, and doesn’t want anything to happen.  So my mom and I are driving with the dog.  We are going to try to make a fun road trip out of it, and hope to stop at Paula Deen’s restaurant on the way.  We’ll fly back to NJ on the 17th b/c we have plans that night, and Solomon will be there (he’s driving down the night before and hanging out with my dad).  Then it’s back to M’Ville.  Craziness!

We are almost ready to go, Rufio is getting ready for his car seat and a long trip ahead!

DSC01896 Thank you for all of your opinions on the white capris…I’m gonna wear them!  Black and white is classic, and I feel good in them!

Anywhere we should stop on our road trip from NJ to Florida?  Where should we stay a night (we plan only one night on the road)?  Any restaurants or coffee shops we can’t miss?

12 Responses

  1. Oooh sounds fun — I’ve always wanted to do a cross-country road trip! Granted, Florida is hardly cross-country, but since I’ve never done it, afraid I can’t offer any help there. 😉 Have a great time!

    ❤ ❤

  2. Hooray for TJ’s!!

    Have fun on the trip 🙂

  3. I’d stop in Charleston!

    Have fun on your trip 🙂

  4. you’re going to be a busy lady! If you go to Paula Deen’s you have to take a ton of picture-I’m super entertained by her!

  5. I am so jeolous………..Paula Deen’s! I have always wanted to go there.

    =( Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  6. Aaaah…road trip! FUN 😀 Sounds like a pretty awesome few weeks ahead of you- enjoy!

  7. Have fun and be safe! Enjoy Paula Deen’s restaurant; I’m super jealous.

    I’d definitely stop in Charleston. I love it.

  8. yay for TJ staples!

    have a fun roadie! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  9. Have a safe and fun road trip Morgan. That sounds like a lot of fun. Your dog is too cute!

  10. I love the Pittsburgh Trader Joe’s! I just graduated from Pitt and totally miss the city 😦 How sweet of your husband to stop for you.

    Hope you have a great trip!

  11. I love cracker barrel on florida roadtrip mornings! super indulgent but fun 🙂

    ps just saw the package you sent kaytee and kudos on the israeli chocolate! I LOVE THAT STUFF!!!

  12. I think we only drove to Florida once, and then my mom refused to go there unless we were flying. I’m pretty sure we stopped in Georgia, but nowhere special. I think if I was driving now, I’d stop somewhere in the Carolinas. Have a great trip!!!

Leave a Reply

