SWEET!

Ron from NuNaturals sent me an incredibly generous package of their Stevia products for me to try.  Stevia is an all natural alternative to sugar, and a great alternative to artificial sweeteners.  It is sweeter than sugar, and is low in carbohydrates, so it has a negligible effect on blood glucose.  Research suggests stevia is helpful for treating both obesity and high blood sugar.   NuNaturals also derives their stevia from sustainable agriculture!

DSC02060

I cut out artificial sweeteners about a year ago, and while I think this was one of the best things I have done for myself, some things were missing a certain sweetness I craved.  I used to drink my coffee with Sweet and Low, then switched to Splenda, and eventually stopped after a lecture from my brother (med. students think they know everything).  I tried to drink my coffee black, and that just wasn’t working for me.  A little milk made it a somewhat better, but it just wasn’t the same for me.  The first thing I tried was the Pure Liquid Vanilla Stevia.  A few drops in my coffee gave me a subtle vanilla flavor and finally, the sweetness I have been missing!  I think this bottle will be coming with me when I go to New Jersey for a few weeks!

DSC02064 I also the NuStevia Extract Powder.  The bottle suggests using 1/32 or 1/64 of a teaspoon.  That’s not a whole lot, so it just goes to show you how strong this stuff is!  I actually have a 1/32 tsp. measuring spoon, which I used to measure this, just so I can get a feel of how much to use.

DSC02068How adorable are these spoons?!?!

I used half of the spoon, and it was just the right amount of sweet for me!  I also found that putting the Extract Powder into the coffee maker with my coffee grinds provides me with the same sweetness.  Try putting some sweetener or flavor directly into your grinds, pumpkin pie spice is yummy!

DSC02072 Representing Brandeis with that mug!

I might start stashing some of the Stevia packets in my purse from now on!  I also received some Baking Blend, which I haven’t had a chance to use yet.  I think I’m going to try it out with one of the NuNaturals recipes, before I start experimenting with it.  I’ll let you know how that goes!

9 Responses

  1. 1/64 of a teaspoon is half a smidgen? How much is a smidgen, then?? Okay, I know that would be 1/32 of a teaspoon, but I didn’t know these things were actually quantifiable… I usually just give up and use the good old “dash”!

    ❤ ❤

    • LOL! I had no idea. I googled it when I remembered I had the spoons. I always thought it was just a random measurement created by cute little grannies!

  2. Wow! That is a huge amount of samples!

  3. ha, those are great measuring spoons!

  4. ive seen these products everywhere – i need to get me some!

  5. I’ve never seen this brand before. I look forward to seeing what recipes you use this is in.

  6. I love the spoons!

  7. i need to get my hands on some of these products asap!!! I am a splenda addict, and i need to stop, maybe these will be the answers to my prayers!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  8. […] also found when I want a little sweetness in my coffee, either a little stevia or Xagave does the trick to add a sweetness without too much of an artificial taste.  I also find […]

Leave a Reply

