Pumpkin Everything Cookies

These are by no stretch healthy, but boy are they delicious!  I have no idea where I got this recipe from, so I can’t give credit where it is due, but if you do know, please let me know!  I’ve been making these for about a year or two, and they are always a big hit.  I have made some modifications from the original recipe, and I think they are fantastic!  People who don’t like pumpkin even like these!  They are just a wonderful, well rounded cookie, that really tastes just like fall.

I forgot to take pictures after they came out of the oven, and figured I would just get some on the bus ride to D.C. but the students had other plans.  They inhaled these cookies so fast, and nicknamed them crack.  It was a little weird to hear college students saying “Hey, can you pass the bag of crack back here?” but it was cute.  I tried to get some pictures on the bus, but it just didn’t work.  Next time I bake them, I will put some pictures here.  Enjoy!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I like pecans in these)
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

-First, cream the butter and sugar together until it is light and fluffy.  Then beat in the egg, pumpkin and vanilla
-Mix and sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon and add this to the mixture.  Mix well.
-Add nuts, cranberries and chocolate chips and mix thoroughly
-Drop my teaspoons onto well greased cookie sheets.  I find a mini ice cream scoop works best.
-Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the cookies are lightly browned.  While the cookies are still warm, transfer them to cooling racks.

YIELD: 3-4 dozen cookies (if you don’t eat all of the dough first!)

4 Responses

  1. i LOVE pumpkin cookies! My mom’s best friend makes them in the fall and they’re awesome. These ones look great!

  2. these sound amazing!! an i bet with a few tweeks you could make them healthier, but honestly the unhealthy option is probs better! 🙂 hahaha

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Yay cookies! In time for Cookie Friday 😀

  4. Yum! Welcome to the foodie blogroll!

Leave a Reply

