Super Speedy Sweet and Sour

Say that 5 times fast!

Tonight I was craving vegetables, and sweet and sour sauce.  I don’t tend to keep sweet and sour sauce in the house, since I don’t really like what’s in most of them, and I wasn’t heading to the store to look for a healthy version.  I remember seeing on the Food Network at some point that you can make your own with 4 easy ingredients.  I remembered what the ingredients are, but had no idea how much to put in.  After a little trial and error, I came up with a pretty yummy sauce.  I combined:

  • ketchup
  • yellow mustard
  • low sodium soy sauce
  • brown sugar

DSC01996

Simple, right!  I cooked up some whole wheat pasta, and heated up frozen stir fry veggies from Costco.  I added the sauce, some pineapple and cashews, and made an easy peasy dinner.  I was even lazy and put my dinner into the same bowl I made my sauce in, just so I could get all of the yummy sauce.  Time for a glass of wine, and Biggest Loser!

DSC02005

5 Responses

  1. Makeover? I love it! great dinner tonight It’s amazing how simple condiments make delicious dinners. I made something similar tonight. 😉

  2. LOVE it! I never got why ppl buy prepared sauce when you can so easily make your own! Fantastic inspiration!

  3. Looks great! I love sweet and sour sauce, but rarely buy it for the same reasons. I am hooked on teriyaki sauce right now 😀

  4. what a great idea for the sauce! I’m going to have to try that.

  5. […] this was all cooking away, I made up a quick batch of my super speedy sweet and sour sauce.  I poured the whole thing into my pan, and let it come to a bubble before setting the pan to […]

Leave a Reply

