Almost Vegan Black Bean Brownies

This weekend, Solomon and I are taking a bunch of the students from the college to D.C.  Per their request, I am baking for the bus ride, and bringing the following: challah, pumpkin everything cookies, and brownies.  But I decided to put a little twist on brownies, and attempt black bean brownies which I have seen floating around the blog world for awhile.  I’m always game for trying something new, so I figured, what the hey?  I modified (slightly) this recipe from No Meat Athlete.  I didn’t have as much cocoa as the recipe called for, so I thought that maybe adding carob chips would make up for it.  Instead, I accidentally grabbed chocolate chips, meaning these are no longer vegan.  They are delicious though, and you can’t taste the beans AT ALL.  These are some of the moistest, gooiest brownies I have ever had, here’s hoping college students like them!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 1/4 cups raw sugar
  • 1 cup cocoa
  • 4 tsp instant coffee powder
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, rinsed and filled with fresh water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup chocolate or carob chips
  • 2 tbsp. agave nectar

-Mix together flour, salt, sugar, cocoa, and coffee powder.
-Puree the can of black beans and water (hint: do not use a mini-prep or you will have black bean liquid everywhere!).  Add this to the dry ingredients.  Add the remaining ingredients, and stir to combine.
-Pour into a 9 x 13 pan.  I actually used a Baker’s Edge pan, so that every piece has a crumbly end!

DSC01952

By the way…how fun is this pan?
-Bake 25-35 minutes (mine took 35), rotating once halfway through.  The center of the brownies are firm when they are cooked, if they look liquidy, they are not done!

DSC01959

4 Responses

  1. holy smokes those look amazing! hope they taste great! i want one hehehehe

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. […] watched: Zoolander, Old School and Billy Madison and snacked more than we should.  My challah and almost vegan black bean brownies were both a big hit.  None of the students could believe what was in the brownies, and kept telling […]

  3. You used agave nectar?! Bailey and I are totally making these. BEST BROWNIES EVER!

Leave a Reply

