Crazy Camel!

I started reading Elina’s blog fairly recently, and found I like her approach to food and fitness, since it reminds me a lot of my own!  She had posted a review awhile back on dessert hummus, that I was just dying to try.  I L.O.V.E. hummus, and would eat it with every meal if I could (Zohan anyone?).  I mean, it’s basically perfect for dipping, spreading and generally noshing on.  I also love dessert, and am always looking to try something sweet, that isn’t so terrible for me.  What intrigued me most about Crazy Camel were the nutritional stats-comparable to regular hummus, rather than a regular dessert.  An all natural, low calorie, low fat dessert?  Sign me up!

I contacted Chuck over at Crazy Camel and in about a week, he had sent me 6 full size containers of his hummus!  How amazing is that?  I had no idea he was even going to send any, until Solomon called me while I was in NJ, and told me a package full of hummus had arrived, and he was intrigued by it.  I told him to hold tight, and not to try a thing until I got back to PA.  Once I got home, I couldn’t believe what Chuck had sent me:

DSC01927

I got one each of the following: Toasted Almond, Chocolate Mousse, Caramel Apple, Peanut Butter, Pumpkin Pie and Maple Walnut.  We decided to try the Caramel Apple first, and put it in the fridge to thaw out.  I love that all that is in this hummus is:

  • chickpeas
  • evaporated cane juice
  • dried apples
  • safflower oil
  • caramel extract
  • apple extract

DSC01936

The website suggests trying the caramel apple hummus with cheddar rice cakes, which we don’t have, so I decided apple slices were a good bet.  In the words of Tina: HOLY YUM!  What a fun snack!  The taste of chickpeas is there, so you know this is hummus, but the sweetness comes through, without overpowering the hummus taste.  The apple and caramel flavors are subtle, but well defined.  The flavors slowly develop, so first you taste apple, then are left with a delicious caramel taste in your mouth!  Solomon was surprised to enjoy this, but unfortunately couldn’t have too much, since apples tend to irritate his throat.

DSC01939

I love how the apple is all fuzzy in this picture, but the hummus is clear as day!  Thank you Chuck for all of these wonderful hummuses (is that a word?).  I can’t wait until I get a chance to try them all, and will be sure to post reviews of each and every one!  I especially can’t wait to try out all of the suggested fun combinations!

Crazy Camel

Have you tried anything recently that was unconventional and delicious?

4 Responses

  1. oh my goodness, this hummus sounds amazing! I have never heard of sweet hummus, but now I want to try this!

  2. […] was awesome, but the texture threw me off a little bit.  I liked this, but definitely liked the caramel apple better.  I guess I was expecting something smoother, more mousse like and not quite as grainy?  […]

  3. […] was awesome, but the texture threw me off a little bit.  I liked this, but definitely liked the caramel apple better.  I guess I was expecting something smoother, more mousse like and not quite as grainy?  […]

Leave a Reply

