A Yummy Taste of Thai

Here in Meadville, there isn’t a whole lot of culinary diversity.  I mean, Mexican food = Kraft cheese on nachos.  No joke.  Don’t get me wrong, we’ve had some great meals out (mostly Italian or American), but when we want anything Asian, it’s either a trip to Pittsburgh or Erie, or making it ourselves.  I found this pad thai recipe over at We Are Not Martha and made a few changes to it, both to make it vegetarian and kosher (oyster sauce?  Not in this kitchen!).  It’s been a big hit with my husband, and a great, quick weeknight meal, that always has leftovers.  The best part is that I just got a new wok, which I finally got to test out!

Tofu Pad Thai

  • 1 (8 oz) package dried flat rice noodles (I think even Trader Joe’s sells these)
  • 3 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1/4 Cup fresh lime juice
  • 1 Tbsp.  raw sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. Asian chile pepper sauce (yum…sriracha!)
  • 1/4 Cup chicken stock (I use a kosher and vegan stock, so this is vegetarian)
  • 1/4 C up vegetable oil (sometimes I use half vegetable oil, half chili oil)
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped garlic
  • 1 brick firm tofu, drained and dried on paper towels, cut into cubes
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 Tbsp. tamarind syrup
  • 3 Cup bean sprouts
  • 6 green onions, chopped into 1 inch pieces

First heat up the wok with the oil and cook the garlic for a few seconds.  Next, add in the tofu.  I like the let my tofu sit, and not stir it too much.  It takes awhile, but the crispiness on the tofu is worth it.

DSC01761

While the tofu was in the wok, I mixed up my sauce (soy sauce, lime juice, sugar, sriracha and chicken stock).  I always taste the sauce, and usually like it a little spicier, so I put in more sriracha, or throw in some Asian garlic sauce.

Once the tofu is cooked through, move the tofu off to the sides of the wok, and add in the eggs.  The eggs can sit in the wok, with a little light scrambling.  Once the eggs are scrambled, mix them with the tofu, and add your rice noodles to the wok (follow directions for noodles.  They may need to be soaked in water ahead of time).  Add your sauce, bean sprouts and scallions, and mix it all up!  Finally, pour a little tamarind on top, and mix it with the rest of the noodles.

I like it plain, with lots of sriracha, and my husband likes some chopped peanuts on top.  Either way, we think this is delish, and we enjoy it every time!

DSC01762DSC01763

Leave a Reply

