Like Buttah, Pumpkin Buttah

I’m so glad so many of you thought my pizza from the other night looked good.  It was delicious and I highly recommend everyone try it at home!  I have another international inspired pizza coming up in the next few days too!

Remember my overabundance of pumpkins? Something had to be done, so I went to work on some of them.  I used the little guys as decor.  I’m not really a seasonal decoration kind of person, but I figured what the heck?  We have a huge glass jar with rocks and glass beads on our little key/entrance table, so I just threw them in there for fun.  That’s my version of festive!

DSC02974 DSC02976

I took one of the big pumpkins, and decided to make a ton of pumpkin puree, instead of buying the canned stuff.  I can freeze it, and couldn’t believe how much I was able to make.  First, I cut the top off and cut the pumpkin in half.

DSC02929 I then used an ice cream scoop to scoop out the insides.  I separated all the goop from the seeds and attempted to roast them.  Since I was impatient and did not let them dry before I roasted them, they didn’t come out so well.  Big fail.

DSC02930 I then took the giant pumpkin halves and put them on a cookie sheet and stuck them in a 400 degree oven for about a half hour.  This was after I figured out I had to rearrange the oven shelves to accommodate the giant pumpkin halves!  They came out all soft and fork tender.

DSC02931I once again used my friend the ice cream scoop to get all the pumpkiny goodness out of their shells.  I might have gotten a little aggressive.  Just maybe.

DSC02932Once I scooped out all of the pumpkin, I used my best friend, the Smart Stick to blend it all into puree.  The texture looked the same as the canned stuff, but the color was a little different.

DSC02934

I decided to put some into labeled plastic bags and freeze them.  My mom taught me one of the best tricks for getting liquidy things, like frosting, into plastic bags and I wanted to share it with you all.  It may be obvious to some of you, but I thought my mom was brilliant when she taught me this.  Just stick the bag in something tall and wide, like a vase or your blender, then fold the sides of the bag over.  Voila!

DSC02938 DSC02939Now I have pumpkin puree for life!  Plus there was no mess!

I should probably get to the point of this post.  PUMPKIN BUTTER! I adore the stuff, year round, and figured I could just make my own.  I have made apple butter in the past (oooh, I should do that again!) so I thought this would be a breeze.  It was.  I adapted this from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook.  I pretty much doubled the recipe, and didn’t measure anything, so these are all estimates.

You will need:

  • About 3 cups pumpkin puree
  • 3 cups firmly packed light brown sugar (I used dark, it’s all I had)
  • 1 cup mild honey
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 2 Tbsp. cider vinegar (I didn’t have, so I just used white)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Place everything in the slow cooker and stir it all together with a spatula.  Put the slow cooker on high for 2 hours, stirring it all occasionally with a spatula.  After two hours, take the cover off, and allow to cook another half hour to hour on high.  I used my hand blender again at this point to smooth it all out, but I don’t think that’s necessary.

Once it has come to room temperature, then you can scrape down the sides, and eat it or put it into whatever containers you wish to store it in.

DSC02936 DSC02941 DSC02947 ‘Tis absolutely delicious!  I adore my slow cooker, everything always comes out just right.  However, this is a ton of pumpkin butter to eat, wish me luck!

I also wanted to note actually, that I keep my own pumpkin pie spice on hand.  I make a ton and use it all the time rather than buying it.  Here’s what goes into it to make 1 teaspoon:

  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg.

I like to keep it all in a container that has a shaker top on one side, and a wide opening on the other.  This container is old school Tupperware, and I love it!

DSC02978

Were you wondering what ever became of the other giant pumpkin?  I’m going to puree it up this weekend, but in the meantime, Rufio is still sneaking glances at it and trying to get it every time he goes outside.  He’s so weird!

DSC02977

Don’t forget to enter my Blender Bottle giveaway! There are 3 ways to enter!

  1. Leave me a comment on this post with your favorite smoothie recipe.  I like smoothies,and I like variety!
  2. Follow me on Twitter and tweet about this.  Let me know what you said, be sure to include my name (@liveloveeatplay).
  3. Link back to this contest in your blog.

Do you have a slow cooker?  What’s your favorite thing to make in it?

21 Responses

  1. yum, that pumpkin butter sounds great!

    and do you have a schnauzer? My parents have had 3 for the their last 3 dogs – we had to put 2 down due to cancer, but they are the BEST dogs!!! I love them.

  2. Winter squash is so pretty; they make great decorations!!

    I make my own pumpkin pie spice / apple pie spice too… not necessarily because it’s cheaper, but because I had such a hard time finding them! :p

    I think the canned pumpkin is made using a different type of pumpkin… yours was yellow from the outset.
    <3 <3

  3. Hm pumpkin butter sounds awesome! Good way to put it into good use! and i also love your decorations, i love that they are in huge glass bowl, i think it looks really pretty!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Love your decorations!

  5. interesting creations. i love the display. are the displays edible or are they plastic?

  6. love the gord display :) Hope you are having a great day!

  7. Yum! Question: how do you store your pumpkin butter so that it doesn’t go bad, when you have such a big batch?

  8. Wow, pumpkin butter sounds great. What a smart idea to use an ice cream scoop — I will have to try that. I always struggle getting all of the seeds out.

  9. Hi! Thanks for your comment on my blog. I love your pumpkin butter idea. I’ve seen tons of recipes for pumpkin stuff, but that butter looks amazing. Your decorations are cute. I have a similar vase full of pumpkins too.

  10. You are the woman! Pumpkin puree from scratch?!

    The butter looks fab too – looooove that deep, dark color!!

  11. Wow, I never thought to make my own pumpkin puree! My boyfriend’s Mom has like a thousand little pumpkins for decoration all over the house. I should steal some and cut em up :)

  12. No slow cooker here, but your pumpkin butter looks great. The Farmers Market down the street has all different fruit butters so I usually head over there for pumpkin butter. I always look at other kinds, but end up with pumpkin butter.. it’s so yummy!

  13. Pumpkin as art — I LOVE it!

    I use pumpkin puree year-round in my oatmeal, so the frozen stuff makes so much sense. Thanks for the idea!

  14. i love my slow cooker-i use it to cook dried beans (especially chickpeas!) and to make roasts and stew.
    i thought my mom was crazy when she got it for me…. but it’s one of my favorite things!

  15. Love the pumpkin decorations! I have a slow cooker, but the only person that uses it in my house is my husband.

  16. […] Like Buttah, Pumpkin Buttah […]

  17. […] of milk.  Beat until each addition is combined. -Divide batter evenly among cups (I used the bag in the blender trick and cut a hole in the corner to squeeze the batter into the tiny cups). -Bake, rotating halfway […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

