Oats in a Jar

DSC02031

After a wonderful early morning walk with Rufio I was  ready for some food, followed by some yoga, and he was completely pooped and ready for a nap:

DSC02017 There’s a chill in the air, and fall is close, and I was craving some fall flavors.  Since I had a little bit left in a jar of Mighty Maple, I knew this was the perfect bowl for my morning oats.

DSC02018 I always premake a big batch of oats, it was easy to throw them all together into the jar and have a delicious breakfast.  I threw the following into the jar, and microwaved it for a minute and a half:

  • oats
  • pumpkin
  • 1/2 banana
  • flax
  • real maple syrup

DSC02024 This was delicious, and so filling, that I couldn’t even finish it!  Next time, for a more complex flavor, I might try Katie’s melted banana trick.  The caramelized taste of the banana is amazing when you do this.  Mighty Maple is seriously like crack, I didn’t like it at first, but now it’s my favorite!

CAUTION:  If you are going to do oats in a plastic jar, remember to make sure all of the aluminum foil is off the top of the jar, otherwise, this could be a disaster!

Giveaways!

Be sure to head over to the following blogs for some fun giveaways!

What are you waiting for?

9 Responses

  1. Ah…always wondered if the PB and Co jar would melt. Glad they hold up to the microwave! I need to try oats in a jar. I feel like I have been eating the same nut butter forever, waiting for it to be empty enough for oats! Though I could just have a mega peanut buttery breakfast…

    Enjoy your day!

  2. I love doing oats in a jar. I will be sure to check out these giveaways too. Have a lovely Hump Day Morgan.

  3. everyone is doing oats in a jar and i feel left out! hahha. i’m gonna start gettin myself into this! haha.

    hope your having a great day!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. haha oats in a jar this morning was the only bright side to finishing my jar of Trader Joe’s raw almond butter (I don’t live near a TJ’s and bought 2 jars over the summer that I’ve slowly been rationing). :)

    • Me too! I finished a jar of TJ’s almond butter last week, and don’t want to open the other one I have yet, I want to save it!

  5. I’ve seen these oats in a jar everywhere. At first I was like, “Um, wait. How do you take an ENTIRE jar of nut butter, put MORE stuff INTO it, and then EAT the whole thing??? That’s like… 92845948534 calories.” Then I realized that no, people weren’t in fact insane, but rather they were using the last little bit of the nut butter at the bottom of the jar – not the entire thing.

    Note: My confusion happened before my morning coffee, so I think I get a little leeway here. =P

    Anyway, your bfast looks great. I can’t wait to get to the bottom of my almond butter jar so I can do the same =)

  6. seriously, i need to find this mighty maple. I think it would be THE BEST oats in a jar, ever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

